· 

pre-briefing & guest check

 

Hey guys, some of you asked, about my pre-briefing & guest check procedure.

 I thought the best is to put in on here, everyone can read it through and use it.

 

On the guest briefing the night before I introduce the word SAFARI, and tell the story, that it is also in Swahili the word for journey. As we are going with them together to a journey on the next morning / or this evening, I will give them the word to remember what to bring and to do.

 

S - Safety

A - Attention

F - Fun

A - Attraction

R - Rest

I - Interests

 

On the guest briefing I cover the first and the last letter, S and I.

 

S - stands for Safety; so please bring following items with you:

(Sunprotection, Sunglasses, Sunhut, Medication, neutral coloured clothes, sturdy shoes, Water, etc.)

 

I - Interests Special interests from the guests (Elephants, Lions, Sicklebush ;-))

 

On the next day, at the guest check I repeat the S - Safety in the beginning again, to assure that they´ve got everything

Then I go on to the letters A-F-A-R and "I" again.

 

A – Attention

„I need your attention on the drive. Your eyes, ears aswell as your nose. Everything what you can see, hear or sometimes smell, please pass this on to me. Because I sit further down, so your position to discover something is sometimes much better. Aswell I need to focus on the front to manoveur the car or to see animals early enough not to bump into them.

Sometimes we are going through thickets, so please watch out brunches. Some of them are thorny, so duck bejond them, never grap them. I will announce it, but please look for yourself aswell.

 

F – Simply stands for Fun – no Fear.

If we follow all the rules in the bush, we will have a wonderful time out there, and I do my best for you to enjoy yourselfs.

 

A – Attraction.

This is a special point. The animals are our attraction on the drive. But we definitly don´t want to become an attraction for them.

So please don´t stand up or let your limbs hang out on a sighting. The vehicle is one object for the animals, if you stand up we break this illusion for them, and some of them will run of, or come towards us – both of these reactions we don´t want occur.

 

R – Rest & Radio Procedure

There will be a rest in the middle of the drive (If morning Coffe, afternoon Sundowner).

There is also the possibility of course to go to the toilet. I have got toiletpaper with me and brown bags, and we will find a nice spot for you. Also, if you feel the need, while we are driving to make a stop, just let me know.

We have a radio with us. It is running on channel .... ! To operate, press this side button and call the station.

Usually I do it for us, but there might be a moment, I ask one of you to do it for me.

 

I – Interests of the guests

I repeat the special interests again at last point before we start to drive.

 

For myself aswell as for the guests I thought it might be a simpler way to remember, and it gives a structure to what I say.

 

Hope you have fun with it!